UFC 256 Figueiredo vs Moreno Picks and Predictions With Odds

UFC flyweight champion Deiveson Figueiredo will cut short his vacation in an attempt to make history at UFC 256 on Saturday (December 12 2020) when he puts his title on the line against Brandon Moreno.

UFC 256 Info & Card Schedule

  • Date: Saturday, December 12
  • Venue: UFC Apex, Las Vegas, Nevada
  • UFC 256 Free Bets Bonus: Pointsbet Promo, Bet365 NJ Offers
  • Viewing Info: ESPN/ESPN2/ESPN Deportes, ESPN+, UFC Fight Pass
  • Early Prelims: 6:15 p.m. ET (11:15 p.m. GMT)
  • Prelims: 8 p.m. ET (1 a.m. GMT)
  • Main Card: 10 p.m. ET (3 a.m. GMT)

UFC 256 Prediction: Deiveson Figueiredo Seals History with Title Defense vs. Brandon Moreno

“Deus Da Guerra” (God of War) submitted Alex Perez in less than two minutes on November 21, but he’ll complete the quickest turnaround between UFC title defenses if he beats “The Assassin Baby” in Las Vegas (21 days).

No-one has looked close to touching Figueiredo (20-1) in this flyweight division, and he enters the bout as a fairly dominant -310 moneyline favorite with William Hill Sports. New Jersey, Colorado, Indiana and TN customers can back Moreno as a +250 underdog should they feel the short break between fights will be to the detriment of the champion, who looked nothing short of dominant in his last outing against Perez.

Figueiredo vs Moreno Preview

Moreno (18-5-1) also fought on that same card at UFC 255 and notched a first-round victory of his own, knocking out up-and-comer Brandon Royval after controlling him on the ground for the most part:

That’s one area of Moreno’s game that Figueiredo perhaps won’t want to run risk. He holds a Brazilian jiu-jitsu black belt of his own and has submitted each of his last three opponents, but Moreno’s submission rate is not to be taken lightly—10 submission wins in 18 fights—and the smart bet is on Figueiredo relying largely on his strengths standing up:

The Brazilian technician is +138 to win via KO or TKO, the same method by which he’s collected nine of his 20 professional wins (eight via submission). Moreno is yet to be finished in five career losses (two in the UFC), though he hasn’t met an opponent of Figueiredo’s threat level as of yet.

There is speculation concerning how the quick turnaround will affect Figueiredo, but the 32-year-old took very little damage against Perez and could actually benefit from an easier weight cut. What’s more, Moreno fought for more than twice the length on the same evening, meaning it could in fact be him who feels the affects of the shorter break period more. 

Figueiredo vs. Moreno Odds

  • Deiveson Figueiredo: -310
  • Brandon Moreno: +250
  • Prediction: Figueiredo via KO/TKO (+138)
Pointsbet $250 Deposit Bonus
GET POINTSBET BONUS!
Total
0
Shares

Free Offers, Special Bonuses & Betting Insights

 We send you special offers, bonus codes and betting insights. U.S. ONLY. MUST BE 21+.