Table of Contents

In which states is betting on cricket legal in the USA?

Author: AmericanGambler1234 | Last Updated: April 19, 2019

As a result of the supreme court reversal of the Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act in 2018, any state which so wishes can formally legalize sports betting, which would, of course, apply to cricket betting.
So what’s the state of play?

Well, four states which previously allowed sports betting despite the federal restrictions were given immunity following the supreme court ruling last year. They are: Nevada, Delaware, Oregon and Montana.

As of February 28, 2019, six states had taken the opportunity to formally legalize sports betting as a result of the supreme court decision.

They are: Delaware, New Jersey, Mississippi, West Virginia, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island.

There have also been formal sports bets taken on one tribal casino in New Mexico, while Arkansas voted in favor of legalizing sportsbooks in the November midterms of 2018.

Prior to the supreme court ruling on the case, one research firm suggested that as many as 32 states could end up legalizing sports betting within five years in the event of the federal ban being quashed.

Each state has specific gambling legislation relating to law betting which any potential punter would be advised to read before deciding whether or not to lay down the money.

The prohibition of online gambling, though, remains a murky topic. The 1961 Wire Act, introduced to outlaw the placing of bets via telephone, was ruled to incorporate all sports betting in 2011 by a Department of Justice legal counsel opinion paper.