How Old Must You Be To Play Online Casino Games in the USA

poker game

How Old Must You Be To Play Online Casino Games in the USA and Can You Be Punished For Playing Offline?

All across the United States, the legal gambling age varies—not by much, but it does. There are multiple sites that one could use to determine what the legal gambling age is for your specific region. The age limit also varies depending on which game you are playing.

Individuals that are 18 and over can make all types of bets in the following states:

  • Idaho
  • Wyoming
  • Minnesota
  • Iowa

An Individual that is 18 and over can make bets; however, they cannot participate in all types of betting:

  • California
  • Oregon
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin
  • Florida
  • Connecticut
  • New York
  • Delaware

Young adults who are 18 and over can make pari-mutuel bets only in these states:

  • Washington
  • Indiana
  • Ohio
  • Arkansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Pennsylvania

Pari-mutuel betting is the placing of bets in a group where the winnings are divided up between the participants.

Individuals who are 21 years of age and over can bet in 35 states, which are:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. California
  5. Colorado
  6. Connecticut
  7. Delaware
  8. Florida
  9. Idaho
  10. Illinois
  11. Indiana
  12. Iowa
  13. Kansas
  14. Louisiana
  15. Maine
  16. Maryland
  17. Michigan
  18. Minnesota
  19. Mississippi
  20. Missouri
  21. Nevada
  22. New Jersey
  23. New Mexico
  24. New York
  25. North Carolina
  26. Ohio
  27. Oklahoma
  28. Oregon
  29. Pennsylvania
  30. South Dakota
  31. Texas
  32. Washington
  33. West Virginia
  34. Wisconsin
  35. Wyoming

Punishment for Underage Gambling in the USA

The Casino Control Act strictly prohibits underage persons from gambling in a casino or any simulcast facility. If an individual is convicted of underage gambling, the penalty is considered a disorderly person offense, which is a criminal charge that will result in a criminal record. A conviction of underage gambling will also result in a fine of between $500 and $1000, along with the individual's driver's license being suspended for a period of 6 months. If the individual is under the age of 17 and does not have a driver’s license, the issuance of the license will be suspended for 6 months.

If the parent of the underage individual has knowingly allowed the individual to gamble, he or she can also be charged with a disorderly person's offense.

Photo by Keenan Constance

Total
0
Shares

Free Offers, Special Bonuses & Betting Insights

 We send you special offers, bonus codes and betting insights. U.S. ONLY. MUST BE 21+.

Aweber Logo